Paradise Lost…

12733378_347990991991176_7878333214253363434_n.jpg

 

I have been obsessed with Milton’s ‘Paradise Lost’ for most of my adult life. Reading it, I must admit is a bit of a stretch, seeing as it is a poem and antiquated to boot. But the premise is what drew me to it, as I have long been convinced that all this devil stuff is mostly propaganda.

It has to be, don’t you think? After all, the devil was supposed to be an angel once. A very special angel if you ask me, for I don’t suppose they give the title ‘Bringer of Light’ to just any old angel.

In ‘Paradise Lost’ Satan describes his exile from heaven and his regrets in such a way that you do end up feeling sorry for him. At least I did and might be what gave me the inspiration for my first book, The Ninth Life and the slightly sinister voice that plagues Kate Devereau. I invented (I think) an entity that is supposed to advise and control us humans, mostly in devious and sometimes cruel ways. But as you read along you get to wonder if that is what he is really doing, as it seems his primary mission is to torment us and make us lose our way. We have always called it the ‘Cosmic Joker’ in our house, something to blame for all those infuriatingly unexplainable and annoying incidents that drive us all batty!
NL x4.jpg

I don’t feel as though I am in control of anything, even at my age.  But are we ever really in control of our lives? With so many rules and influencers, I suspect we are just pawns in one fantastic board game. There is something else going on, of that I am convinced, for we are allowed too many glimpses of it at work.

Our world is a beautiful place, a veritable paradise, but unless you leave the bubble that you live in, you will never see just how beautiful it is…

Hope this find everyone well, and I will see you next week…

 

The Dying of the Light…

C5znts9XQAAol91.jpg

 

The Dying of the Light

Part One

The trick is to avoid all the things she knows she cannot do anymore, but this is easier to do than keeping her hands out of the biscuit tin.

She is becoming an expert at ignoring the elephant in the room. She sees him, watching her with that wise knowing look in his eyes, but if she doesn’t acknowledge him or admit his presence to anyone, she can go on pretending that everything is fine.

Pretend that the painful, spiteful remarks don’t slice her soul to the bone, making her want to curl up and die in a corner, or scream louder than the pain, in an effort to keep her temper from overwhelming and drowning her.

Somehow, she maintains a humorous attitude, something she has carefully cultivated. Smiling at her tormentors, even laughing at their cruel jokes and the things they say. She has learned that to show the damage they do only increases their enjoyment at her distress.

She knows they are waiting for her to die, to be finally rid of her and the elephant in the room, the constant reminder that they too will grow old.

She must ignore them, for she cannot find the will or the strength to walk away from them. One of these days she hopes she will manage to summon some vestige of effort, before her time runs out. She dreams of spending her last days in peace and tranquillity, far from all the hatred and cruelty and the critical gaze of the large grey animal in the corner of the room…

Paper Paradise…

I was a lonely child, and London was a lonely place to be when I was growing up there after the war. All around me, people were busily trying to put their lives and homes back into some kind of order.
I remember walking around the streets, confused by all the chaos that still had to be dealt with. All the piles of dusty bricks and rubble, all that remained of so many people’s lives might be what made me such a melancholic child, and the reason I retreated into the world of books.
My favourite book was a copy of Jane Eyre, by Charlotte Bronte and I would love to have that particular copy back in my possession. I remember it as being illustrated, full of hauntingly beautiful but tortured imagery that managed to scare the living daylights out of me (I was only eight years old)

I often wonder if my memory is at fault. Was this book really illustrated, or did the words simply conjure up what I thought I saw?
I do love a good book and I must have read thousands of them in my lifetime. One of my favourite authors of all time is Stephen King.  He wrote about everything, from a crazy car to a tormented child and just about every scary subject in between. I have spent so much time in his company.
BM2.jpg

 

Which brings me to one of my favourite authors, Anita Dawes. You meet her here most weeks as she shares this site with me,  and she is not yet getting the recognition I think she deserves. I can see a similarity with Stephen King in everything she writes, for horrible things happen to her characters too, but you can’t help but love them anyway.
What follows is an excerpt from Bad Moon, my all time favourite…

“Watching the truck coming towards us seemed to take forever, like Pa was going deliberately slow. We waited for Pa to get out of the truck and I could see from his dirt streaked face that it weren’t good. Nathan’s face looked worse.
Ma tried to stop me from running to the truck, but couldn’t hold me. I climbed on the back and didn’t see Nathan getting out. Suddenly he was there beside me. I remember kneeling and touching the blue check shirt that covered Josh’s face. I remember the touch of Nathan’s hand on mine and the gentle way he said, ‘Don’t look, Annie please. Just let Pa bury him.’
 But I had to see for myself, had to know if it was the tree falling on him that had killed him. My eyes were wet, but the tears wouldn’t fall. I pulled the shirt back and a scream tore at my throat, trying to find a way out.

No sound came as I looked at what was left of his face, dark gaping holes looked back at me. Gone were his blue grey eyes, the very thing I had like most about him had been gouged away.
His face was torn and bloody. Dried blood matted his hair and dead leaves were sticking to him.
Nathan tried to take me away, saying I had seen enough. I felt myself being lifted slowly from my knees and as Nathan carried me away, that’s when my mind registered what it had seen.
The torn flesh on his face hadn’t been caused by the fall. The skin standing away from the bone and all the dried blood made it hard to read, that was why my mind didn’t see it right off.
They had cut Pa’s name down one side of his face, as if taking his eyes weren’t enough.
The scream that wouldn’t come before finally broke through and shut down my brain like an axe blow…”

See what I mean? See you next week…

Universal Amazon Link:  http://myBook.to/badmoon

#Blog Tour: No Exit by Taylor Adams #Thriller #Book Review

Blog Tour Banner - No Exit.jpg

 

Cover

Looking for a thriller that you can’t put down? Then try this book that everyone’s talking about.
One of the tensest, most gripping thrillers you will ever read. From UK and US best-selling author Taylor Adams.
A KIDNAPPED LITTLE GIRL LOCKED IN A STRANGER’S VAN. NO HELP FOR MILES. WHAT WOULD YOU DO?
Darby Thorne is a college student stranded by a blizzard at a highway rest stop in the middle of nowhere. She’s on the way home to see her sick mother. She’ll have to spend the night in the rest stop with four complete strangers. Then she stumbles across a little girl locked inside one of their parked cars.
There is no cell phone reception, no telephone, no way out because of the snow, and she doesn’t know which one of the other travelers is the kidnapper.
Full of shocking twists and turns, this beautifully written novel will have you on the edge of your seat.
Perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, Paula Hawkins, or Stephen King.

The first twist left me breathless. The suspense starts at the very first page and only becomes more compelling until the explosive ending.” Linda Strong
“Once starting this story I just could not put it down, call it engrossing, engaging, intriguing or whatever you’d like it truly turned into one of those reads that I couldn’t break away from and today I really need a nap.” Carrie Glover

Our Review

The words on the cover “a gripping thriller full of heart-stopping twists” made me want to read this book. The second thing I noticed was there were no chapters as such, just a tight timeline of just 12 hours. As I started to read, I just knew it would be something very special.

Darby Thorne, a college student, is fighting her way through a blizzard to get home to see her mother before she has an operation. Forced to abandon her journey at a rest stop, Darby finds herself trapped with four people, and one or more of them is possibly a kidnapper.

A few pages in, the first in a series of nasty twists caught me completely off guard, and I could only watch helplessly as Darby starts to fight her way through this incredible story. The pressure was unbelievable, every time you think it cannot possibly get any worse, it does.

You can tell the author is a screenwriter, every scene is painfully real, dragging you along for the ride. I had snow on my face by page three and my fingers were icy cold. But the tension kept me reading until I reached the end!

Written like a blockbuster suspense movie, the end had me crying and cheering in equal measure. This was definitely the best book I’ve read in a very long time and I thank the author for this advance copy!

taylor adams author photo(1)

 

Taylor Adams directed the acclaimed short film And I Feel Fine in 2008 and graduated from Eastern Washington University with the Excellence in Screenwriting Award and the prestigious Edmund G. Yarwood Award. His directorial work has screened at the Seattle True Independent Film Festival and his writing has been featured on KAYU-TV’s Fox Life blog. He has worked in the film/television industry for several years and lives in Washington state.

 

The Broken Life #blogtour Wrap up #crime thriller http://myBook.to/BrokenLife

 

It was exciting…planning my first ever blog tour, but terrifying too.

Would I get it right — remember all those important details?

Six people volunteered, six people who will remain blessed in my heart for taking a chance on me — someone who invents ways to mess up on a daily basis.

I have revisited all of their posts, replying to all the lovely comments… and want to thank everyone who took part and made this old lady very happy.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I am listing all of the links to my blog tour posts, just in case you didn’t get to see them.

https://lizziechantree.com/2017/06/20/meet-jaye-marie/

https://coldhandboyack.wordpress.com/2017/06/21/the-broken-life/

https://suzannerogersonfantasyauthor.wordpress.com/2017/06/22/thebrokenlifeblogtour.jaydawes2-excerpt-thriller-mystery/

https://allisonmaruska.com/2017/06/23/on-being-a-writer-guest-post-by-jaye-marie/

https://betweenthelinesbookblog.com/2017/06/24/spotlight-extract-the-broken-life-by-jaye-marie-crime-thriller-jayedawes2/

https://thestoryreadingapeblog.com/2017/06/25/reserved-for-jaye-marie-book-promo/

https://scvincent.com/2017/06/26/guest-author-jaye-marie-thebrokenlifeblogtour-jaydawes2-mystery-thriller/

Now I have calmed down, I can look objectively at my efforts, and I see something I forgot to do.

I didn’t include any review posts!

Hopefully, I may get one or two anyway, for several people said they would be reading The Broken Life … so I haven’t being kicking myself too hard!

Before I close this post, I want to say it again…

Thank you Everybody…

Now, what else can I get up to that I haven’t done before?