Make Me Clean ~ by Tina Baker #Fiction #Women’sPsychologicalFiction #Review @TinaBakerBooks

She will leave your surfaces sparkling.
But she may well leave you dead…

Maria is a good woman and a good cleaner. She cleans for Elsie, the funny old bird who’s losing her marbles, with the terrible husband. She cleans for Brian, the sweet man with the terrible boss. She cleans for the mysterious Mr Balogan, with the terrible neighbours.

If you’re thinking of hiring her, you should probably know that Maria might have killed the terrible husband, the terrible boss and the terrible neighbours. She may also have murdered the man she loved.

She didn’t set out to kill anyone, of course, but her clients have hired her to clean up their lives, and she takes her job seriously – not to mention how much happier they all are now. The trouble is, murder can’t be washed out. You can only sweep it under the carpet, and pray no one looks too closely…

What people are saying…

Darkly funny and completely gripping from the first page to the last, Make Me Clean is one thriller you won’t be able to scrub from your mind. Perfect for fans of Harriet Tyce, Fiona Cummins and My Sister the Serial Killer.

Make Me Clean is Tina Baker’s best yet’ – ALICE CLARK-PLATTS
‘She has topped even her first two novels. Brilliant’ – EDDIE MAIR
‘Quirky, dark and delicious’ – CAROLINE ENGLAND

‘Insightful, moving, dramatic and darkly funny’ – DAILY MAIL
‘Brings a whole new meaning to domestic noir’ – THE TIMES
‘Funny, grim and very touching’ – HARRIET TYCE

About the Author

Tina Baker

Tina Baker, the daughter of a window cleaner and fairground traveller, worked as a journalist and broadcaster for thirty years and is probably best known as a television critic for the BBC and GMTV. After so many hours watching soaps gave her a widescreen bum, she got off it and won Celebrity Fit Club. She now avoids writing-induced DVT by working as a Fitness Instructor.

Call Me Mummy is Tina’s first novel, inspired by her own unsuccessful attempts to become a mother. Despite the grief of that, she’s not stolen a child – so far. But she does rescue cats, whether they want to be rescued or not.

Our Review

A dark, twisted and brilliant portrait of a woman. A deeply flawed yet very human woman.

The minute I started reading, I wanted to know more about Maria and what had happened to her to make her so different.

What would I find lurking in her past, or would I be sorry to learn the truth?

Make Me Clean turned out to be a brilliant read, an intriguing drama, darkly funny, and laced with such heart-breaking emotion that moved me to tears on several occasions.

I loved this story so much I will be reading more of Tina Baker’s stories…

5 thoughts on “Make Me Clean ~ by Tina Baker #Fiction #Women’sPsychologicalFiction #Review @TinaBakerBooks

we would love to hear from you!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.