The Ice Killer: A gripping, chilling crime thriller that you won’t be able to put down (The DI Barton Series Book 3) #Review

Winter is coming, and DI Barton is facing the toughest case of his career…

The Ice Killer

Ellen Toole’s therapist told her to forget the past, but with her family story shrouded in secrecy, that’s easier said than done. The approaching long nights of winter loom threateningly in front of her, and with her mother on her death bed, Ellen has never felt more alone. When it becomes clear that her mother has kept secrets about a history darker than Ellen ever imagined, Ellen must find answers about the past if she has any hope for a future.

DI Barton and his team are still recovering from a particularly tough and grisly case, so a report of a kidnapping, followed by the discovery of two dead bodies, is the last thing they need. There’s a murderer on the loose, and the killer needs to be stopped before they strike again. This winter, there will be vengeance on Ellen’s mind, and DI Barton will struggle with his hardest case to date.

How can Barton find the truth, when all the victims and witnesses are dead?

Ross Greenwood writes gritty, heart-pounding thrillers, with twists aplenty, and unforgettable endings. Perfect for fans of Mark Billingham and Stuart MacBride.

Praise for Ross Greenwood:

‘Move over Rebus and Morse; a new entry has joined the list of great crime investigators in the form of Detective Inspector John Barton. A rich cast of characters and an explosive plot kept me turning the pages until the final dramatic twist.’ author Richard Burke

‘Master of the psychological thriller genre Ross Greenwood once again proves his talent for creating engrossing and gritty novels that draw you right in and won’t let go until you’ve reached the shocking ending.’ Caroline Vincent at Bitsaboutbooks blog

‘Ross Greenwood doesn’t write clichés. What he has written here is a fast-paced, action-filled puzzle with believable characters that’s spiced with a lot of humour.’ author Kath Middleton

Our Review

I love the Epigram, ‘Only the dead know the truth.’ and how true this is for this book.

One of my favourite detectives, John Barton, is having to cover his DCI’s position while she is on maternity leave, giving him two jobs to handle.

He doesn’t usually like to be restricted to the office so much, but I think he could be persuaded to like it. He has more freedom, although this doesn’t help with his latest case.

I couldn’t figure it out either.

The Ice Killer is a most unusual case, not really a crime thriller in the normal sense of the word. At least, not what I would expect from Ross Greenwood, as proving guilt would seem difficult in this story, if not impossible.

Personally, I cannot label the main suspect as a killer, far more a victim of life and circumstance, in my opinion.

The Ice Killer is two stories running side by side, a fascinating and beautifully written mix, but one I thoroughly enjoyed reading. It certainly challenged all my perceptions.

Ross Greenwood has the unique ability to allow us to live inside all the characters heads and hearts. A unique talent…

Ross Greenwood Ice Killer Banner

we would love to hear from you!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.