#Blog Tour: Watching You by Gretta Mulrooney #Crimethriller

Blog Tour Banner - Watching You

Who is watching him and what does he want?

 Two years ago someone kidnapped Thomas Maddox’s six-month-old son. The case has never been solved and the boy has never been found.

 Now someone is watching Thomas and sending him dark emails.  And Thomas keeps suffering nasty accidents.

 The police won’t do anything more, so Thomas’s wealthy grandfather hires Tyrone Swift to shed light on the case.

 Can ex-police detective Tyrone Swift get to the bottom of this tangled web of family secrets and pain, and is there any hope of finding the child alive?

 WATCHING YOU is a beautifully written mystery that will have you gripped from start to pulsating finish.

Perfect for fans of Robert Galbraith, P.D. James, or Ruth Rendell.

windmill final (2)

 

 

Our Review

I have come to the Tyrone Swift stories without the benefit of having read his previous cases as a private eye, and I hoped this wouldn’t spoil my enjoyment. I kept an open mind until I got to know him, and really enjoyed all of the characters.

I quickly discovered that Swift has a chequered past, revealing a complicated man , someone with an equally complicated relationship with his baby daughter’s mother, Ruth.  I enjoyed discovering the way Swift thinks, systematically and logically, and quite early in the book, I found myself really liking him.

 

The case in Watching You, is one of Oscar Maddox, a missing child. A six month old baby who vanished two years previously. Mysterious and slightly malevolent emails begin to come from someone who seems to know far too much about the case. Fascinating in depth descriptions of the characters and their complicated mess of relationships.

There is an interesting analogy going on between the missing child and the problems around Swifts own baby, which made him more human somehow, and not just a detective.

I never realised before just how much good detective work relies on luck, asking the right questions and being in the right place at the right time. So many twists and turns in this well written story… keeping up was a full time job, but I thoroughly enjoyed the pace and the tension.

(thanks to the author and Joffe Books for my free review copy)

Gretta Mulrooney Author Photo

Author Bio

“I was born and brought up in London. My parents were Irish. I studied for a B.A. in English at The University of Ulster and subsequently a qualification in Social Work. I taught English in secondary schools, then worked in social care for many years.

I started writing for children in my thirties and had five books published with Poolbeg Press. My first adult fiction novel won a bursary from East Midlands Arts. My first published novel, Araby, was with Harper Collins, followed by Marble Heart. Robert Hale published the next three novels; Fire and Ice, Out of the Blue and The Apple of Her Eye.

I have had two short stories, The Old Master and The Gold Digger, commissioned by and read on Radio Four.

I have always been an avid reader of psychological thrillers and crime fiction and decided, in retirement, to turn to crime. I am currently working on releasing my fourth novel featuring private detective Tyrone Swift.”

grettamulrooney.com

Amazon Links: https://www.amazon.com/WATCHING-gripping-crime-mystery-secrets-ebook/dp/B072VC8TKD

https://www.amazon.com/WATCHING-gripping-crime-mystery-secrets/dp/1912106965

5 thoughts on “#Blog Tour: Watching You by Gretta Mulrooney #Crimethriller

Comments are closed.